Art therapy

No previous knowledge or experience in art is required.

Art therapy is a form of therapy that allows for self-expression through visual arts such as drawing, painting, sculpture and collage. The act of creating supports emotional, physical and psychological well-being.

In art therapy, it is the expression and significance of the image that gives meaning to the experience. To facilitate self-expression, both words and images are used in this process. Art making offers new possibilities of self-expression that transcend the limits of verbal communication which often leads to new perspectives and allows for new questions to arise. Art therapy is a process that can promote well-being, relaxation and enjoyment through engaging in the creative process and experimenting with art materials. Furthermore, the artworks created are concrete reminders of the therapeutic process and may be revisited whenever needed.

Art Therapists

Art therapists are professionals who hold a master's degree in art therapy and are certified in their field. They are knowledgeable in both visual arts and psychology, which makes them qualified to guide people through the artistic and therapeutic process, by offering technical or psychological support. Art therapists do not interpret artwork; they ask questions in order to help the client understand their own interpretations. Trained in symbolism, they rely on their clinical understanding to facilitate the therapeutic process; however, art therapists validate with the client the meaning of their artwork, as the client remains the author and expert of their experience

L'art-thérapie

Aucune connaissance ni expérience en art n'est requise.

L'art-thérapie est une méthode thérapeutique qui permet l'expression de soi par l'utilisation des arts visuels tels que le dessin, la peinture, la sculpture et le collage. L'action de créer favorise le bien-être émotionnel, physique et psychologique.

En art-thérapie, c'est l'expression et la signification de l'image qui donne du sens à l'expérience. Pour s'exprimer, les personnes utilisent à la fois les images et les mots. Créer une production artistique offre une nouvelle possibilité d'expression qui permet de franchir les limites de l'expression verbale, ce qui mène souvent à de nouvelles perspectives et de nouveaux questionnements. Il s'agit d'un processus qui peut apporter bien-être, détente et plaisir par l'expérimentation des matériaux, et qui a l'avantage d'offrir aux personnes un produit tangible auquel elles peuvent en tout temps se référer.

L'art-thérapeute

Les art-thérapeutes sont des professionnels diplômés de niveau maîtrise. Ils détiennent des connaissances tant sur le plan des arts que de la psychologie ce qui fait d'eux des professionnels outillés pour assister la personne au plan de la réalisation technique des créations, du processus créatif et des besoins psychologiques. L'art-thérapeute n'interprète pas les œuvres. Il pose des questions dans le but d'aider le client à comprendre sa relation avec son oeuvre. L'art-thérapeute possède des connaissances sur la symbolique et peut s'appuyer sur sa compréhension clinique pour faciliter le processus thérapeutique, mais doit valider la signification avec son client puisque ce dernier demeure l'expert de son expérience.